Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
e-Mail info@metro.at
Website www.metro.at
Founding Year 1971
ZIP Code 2331
City Vösendorf
Address Metro Platz
Number 1
Phone +43 1 690 80
Fax +43 1 699 2660
CEO Arno Wohlfarther
Employees ca. 2.300
Branches Trade
Regions Vienna, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Tirol, Vorarlberg, Styria, Carinthia

 

METRO Cash & Carry operates twelve wholesale markets in Austria with around 2,300 employees, including 100 trainees, over a total sales area of 139,000 square metres. With its commitment in the area of education and training and as a family-friendly company, the company has been recognised as a “state-certified training company”.

Sustainability is also an integral part of the company strategy for METRO. In October 2017, as a commitment to future-oriented energy efficiency, METRO Österreich opened Europe’s first zero-energy wholesale market in St. Pölten, which was built in timber construction. The commercial building has a 9,000m² photovoltaic system in the roof, through which the market generates more energy than it consumes on a yearly basis. This energy is transferred to an E-filling station. METRO assumes active social and ecological responsibility along the entire value chain and also focuses on environmental friendliness in logistics with the use of electric vehicles. The Austrian head office and management are based in Wien-Vösendorf, where not only the first METRO wholesale market in Austria, but also the first outside of Germany, was opened in 1971.

Services

A wide range is an important aspect for METRO – around 48,000 items from the food and non-food sectors are listed in this country. Around 300 regional products are offered in each market, which come from within a radius of 100km.

For more than 45 years, more than 500,000 customers have trusted in the range and services of the company, which is internationally active as a global market leader in the area of self-service wholesale in 26 countries with around 750 wholesale markets. In keeping with the motto “Everything under one roof”, the areas of competence of METRO are continually developed and optimised. Food service distribution is becoming more important and delivery customers have the option to order their goods around the clock via the online METRO order portal. Since April 2017, METRO offers its customers in the Vienna area guaranteed delivery within 3 hours with the METRO Express service – ultra-fresh with electric vehicles. Other metropolitan areas will follow. In this respect, METRO clearly stands out from the competition and sets new standards in wholesale trading. In 2017, METRO was ranked “Best Retailer of The Year” by AWC Vienna (International Wine Challenge).

Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbHMetro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
Metro Österreich Cash & Carry GmbH
e-Mail info@metro.at
Webseite www.metro.at
Gründungsjahr 1971
PLZ 2331
Ort Vösendorf
Straße Metro Platz
Hausnummer 1
Telefon +43 1 690 80
Fax +43 1 699 2660
Geschäftsführer Arno Wohlfarther
Mitarbeiter ca. 2.300
Branchen Handel
Bundesländer Wien, Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Tirol, Vorarlberg, Steiermark, Kärnten

 

METRO Cash & Carry betreibt in Österreich mit rund 2.300 MitarbeiterInnen, darunter 100 Lehrlinge, zwölf Großmärkte auf einer Gesamtverkaufsfläche von 139.000 Quadratmetern. Der Einsatz im Bereich der Aus- und Weiterbildung bzw. als familienfreundliches Unternehmen findet Anerkennung als „Staatlich ausgezeichneter Lehrbetrieb“.

Auch Nachhaltigkeit ist für METRO integrierter Bestandteil der Unternehmensstrategie. Als Bekenntnis zu zukunftsorientierter Energieeffizienz eröffnete METRO Österreich im Oktober 2017 in St. Pölten den ersten Null-Energie-Großmarkt Europas, der jemals in Holzbauweise errichtet wurde. Das Betriebsgebäude verfügt über eine 9.000m² Photovoltaikanlage am Dach, durch die der Markt aufs Jahr gerechnet mehr Energie gewinnt als er verbraucht. Diese wird an einer E-Tankstelle weitergegeben. METRO übernimmt aktive gesellschaftliche wie ökologische Verantwortung entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette und stellt auch in der Logistik die Umweltfreundlichkeit mit dem Einsatz von Elektrofahrzeugen in den Fokus. Sitz der Österreich-Zentrale und der Geschäftsführung ist in Wien-Vösendorf, wo 1971 nicht nur der erste METRO-Großmarkt Österreichs, sondern auch der erste außerhalb von Deutschland eröffnet wurde.

Dienstleistungen

Große Auswahl ist für METRO ein wichtiger Aspekt – hierzulande sind rund 48.000 Artikel aus dem Food- und Nonfood-Bereich gelistet. In jedem Markt werden etwa 300 regionale Produkte geboten, die aus einem Umkreis von 100km stammen.

Mehr als 500.000 Kunden vertrauen seit über 45 Jahren auf das Sortiment und die Leistungen des Unternehmens, das international als Weltmarktführer im Bereich des Selbstbedienungs Großhandels in 26 Ländern mit rund 750 Großmärkten aktiv ist. Unter dem Motto „Alles unter einem Dach“ werden die Kompetenzbereiche von METRO ständig weiterentwickelt und optimiert. Die Food Service Distribution gewinnt mehr an Bedeutung und Zustellkunden haben die Möglichkeit rund um die Uhr über das METRO Bestellportal online ihre Ware zu ordern. Seit April 2017 bietet METRO ihren Kunden im Raum Wien mit dem METRO Express garantierte Zustellung innerhalb von 3 Stunden - ultrafrisch mit Elektrofahrzeugen. Weitere Metropolregionen folgen. METRO hebt sich damit deutlich vom Mitbewerb ab und setzt neue Standards im Großhandel. 2017 wurde METRO von AWC Vienna (International Wine Challenge) als “Best Retailer Of The Year” ausgezeichnet.