• Christian social doctrine and economic success are no contradiction
  • Doing business ethically means thinking long term
  • Values provide stability in times of upheaval

The virtues of Christian social doctrine and economic success still are frequently seen as a contradiction. The fact that this is by no means the case and that value-oriented corporate management has a long-term impact both on a monetary level, for example in more profits, as well as on a non-monetary basis, for example in greater employee satisfaction, was the core message of an in-depth talk organised by Leitbetriebe Austria at the Apostolic Nunciature of Austria. Pontifical Nuncio and Archbishop Peter Stephan Zurbriggen emphasised the importance of ethical issues for company practice. It is gratifying that these were discussed by top Austrian business representatives on the premises of the Catholic Church, he said.

Family businesses exemplify business ethics
“The German word “Wirtschaft” (Business) literally means ‘to create value'”, said Leitbetriebe Austria Managing Director Monica Rintersbacher. “This already shows that business and ethics need not stand in conflict with one another. The orientation of business toward success and the ethical / moral standards of Christian social doctrine are entirely compatible. “This is exemplified in daily business life especially by family-run enterprises”, Rintersbacher says. “Those who live by moral principles in private life will also orient themselves around them in business activity as best they can. The fact that these companies are more stable and successful in the long-term than the economy on average certainly shows it’s not hurting them”.

Christian social doctrine and a “moral compass”
Anton Burger, a professor at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt and a doctor of economy, theology and law, points to the commonalities between ethics and economics; after all, Adam Smith, the founder of classical economics, was a moral philosopher. “Today there is also consensus that cooperation is individually and socially more advantageous than purely egoistic competition. For this, however, a ‘moral compass’ in the sense of common values and a common ethos in society is needed. This stems largely from Christian social ethics in Europe.” It is therefore the responsibility of the institution of the Church and the individual Christian to actively participate in social discourse.

Acting ethically means thinking in the long term
Günter Bergauer, director of the Church-related bank Schelhammer & Schattera, emphasises the responsibility of the individual. “The orientation of business activity towards short-term goals proved to be a major weakness in our economic system at the time of the financial crisis just ten years ago. The basic prerequisites for ethical action are trust and responsibility. Taking ethical values into consideration almost inevitably results in an orientation toward long-term goals and is therefore an important guideline for one’s own actions in times of limited management contracts and short-term benchmarks”.

Values remain current
Andreas Gnesda, managing director of teamgnesda, which is involved in designing meaningful working environments, emphasises that values have not lost their relevance, even in the 21st century. “Values are anything but stale. Values such as responsibility, self-initiative and appreciation are extremely popular, as they provide support and orientation to the individual, especially in times of upheaval in the working world – think digitalisation or innovation. An appealing working environment can be an expression of this appreciation, but here too, the reorganisation of office space is only of true value if it also reflects the corporate culture that is already practiced”.

Copyright: Sabine Klimpt

SHARE

• Christliche Soziallehre und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg sind kein Widerspruch
  • Ethisch handeln bedeutet, langfristig zu denken
  • Werte geben Halt in Zeiten des Umbruchs

Die Tugenden der christlichen Soziallehre und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg werden nach wie vor oft als Widerspruch gesehen. Dass dies keineswegs der Fall ist und sich werteorientierte Unternehmensführung langfristig sowohl monetär, beispielsweise in höherem Ertrag, als auch nicht-monetär, beispielsweise in höherer Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit, niederschlägt, war die Kernaussage eines von Leitbetriebe Austria organisierten Hintergrundgesprächs in der Apostolischen Nuntiatur Österreich. Der päpstliche Nuntius Erzbischof Peter Stephan Zurbriggen betonte die Bedeutung ethischer Fragen für die betriebliche Praxis. Es sei erfreulich, dass diese in den Räumlichkeiten der katholischen Kirche von Spitzenvertretern der österreichischen Wirtschaft erörtert würden.

Familienbetriebe leben Wirtschaftsethik vor
„Wirtschaft bedeutet im wörtlichen Sinn ,Werte schaffen‘“, erklärte Leitbetriebe Austria-Geschäftsführerin Monica Rintersbacher. „Schon das zeigt, dass Geschäft und Ethik nicht im Widerspruch zueinander stehen müssen. Die Erfolgsorientierung der Wirtschaft und die ethisch / moralischen Ansprüche der christlichen Soziallehre sind durchaus vereinbar.“ Das werde gerade in Leibetrieben praktisch vorgelebt. „Besonders viele Familienunternehmen agieren hier vorbildhaft“, so Rintersbacher. „Wer privat bestimmten Wertvorstellungen folgt, wird sich auch in seinem wirtschaftlichen Handeln bestmöglich an diesen orientieren. Die Tatsache, dass diese Unternehmen stabiler und langfristig erfolgreicher sind als die Wirtschaft im Durchschnitt, zeigt, dass sie damit jedenfalls nicht schlecht fahren.“

Christliche Soziallehre und „moralischer Grundwasserspiegel“
Auch Anton Burger, Professor an der Katholischen Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt und jeweils promovierter Ökonom, Theologe und Jurist, betont die Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen Ethik und Wirtschaft, war doch schon der Gründer der klassischen Nationalökonomie, Adam Smith, eigentlich Moralphilosoph. „Heute herrscht auch Konsens, dass bei einer entsprechenden Rahmenordnung Kooperation individuell und gesellschaftlich vorteilhafter ist als ein rein egoistisches Konkurrenzstreben. Dazu bedarf es aber auch eines ,moralischen Grundwasserspiegels‘ in einer Gesellschaft im Sinne von gemeinsamen Grundwerten, eines gemeinsamen Ethos. Dieses speist sich in Europa zu einem Gutteil aus der christlichen Sozialethik.“ Daher sei es die Verantwortung der Kirche als Institution und des einzelnen Christen, sich in den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs aktiv einzubringen.

Ethisch handeln bedeutet langfristig denken
Günter Bergauer, Direktor des kirchennahen Bankhaus Schelhammer & Schattera, betont die Verantwortung des Einzelnen. „Die Ausrichtung unternehmerischen Handelns an kurzfristigen Zielen hat sich spätestens in der noch keine zehn Jahre zurückliegenden Finanzkrise als große Schwäche unserer Wirtschaftsordnung erwiesen. Die Grundvoraussetzungen für ethisches Handeln sind Vertrauen und Verantwortung. Die Beachtung ethischer Werte führt fast zwangsläufig zu einer Orientierung an langfristigen Zielen und ist daher in Zeiten befristeter Managementverträge und kurzfristig zu erreichender Benchmarks eine wichtige Leitlinie für das eigene Tun.“

Werte bleiben aktuell
Andreas Gnesda, Geschäftsführer von teamgnesda, das sich mit der Gestaltung von sinnvollen Arbeitswelten beschäftigt, betont, dass Werte auch im 21. Jahrhundert nichts von Ihrer Aktualität verloren haben. „Werte sind alles andere als altbacken. Gerade in Zeiten des Umbruchs in der Arbeitswelt – Stichworte: Digitalisierung oder Innovation – haben Werte wie Verantwortung, Eigeninitiative und Wertschätzung Hochkonjunktur, da sie dem Einzelnen Halt und Orientierung geben. Eine ansprechende Arbeitsumgebung kann Ausdruck dieser Wertschätzung sein, aber auch hier gilt: Die Neugestaltung von Büroräumlichkeiten hat nur dann wirklichen Wert, wenn sie auch gelebte Unternehmenskultur abbildet.“

Die ausführliche Presseaussendung finden Sie hier.

Copyright: Sabine Klimpt

TEILEN