Home [:de]Innovation[:] Austrian Post upholds its environmental credentials, with all deliveries within Austria carbon...

Austrian Post upholds its environmental credentials, with all deliveries within Austria carbon neutral in 2019

(v.l.) Walter Oblin, Generaldirektor-Stellvertreter, Vorstand Brief & Finanzen, Georg Pölzl, Generaldirektor der Österreichischen Post und Peter Umundum, Vorstand Paket & Logistik mit dem CO2-Zertifikat © Post AG

CERTIFIED GREEN INITIATIVE LAUNCHED IN 2011 – ALL DELIVERIES TO BE CO2 NEUTRAL FROM 2030

Whether you’re sending letters, mailshots or parcels, whenever you use Austrian Post delivery services, you are doing your bit to protect the environment. And this has been the case since 2011, when all shipments within Austria started meeting the carbon neutral standard. In fact, all Austrian Post consignments are expected to be delivered emissions free by 2030, either exclusively by electric vehicles or alternative fuel vehicles. Austrian Post is now inviting its customers to share its environmental credentials by making its carbon neutral certification available to download.

Back in 2011, Austrian Post launched its ‘CO2-NEUTRAL DELIVERY’ initiative in order to gradually reduce the company’s carbon footprint. The company is not only continually reducing its own energy and fuel consumption, it is also investing in clean energy. It now operates a fleet of around 1,750 electric vehicles, with this number continuing to grow. Approximately 1.3 million kilowatt hours of green energy are now generated each year by photovoltaic systems installed on the roofs of Austrian Post logistics hubs. Additional energy requirements are only ever fulfilled by suppliers of green electricity based in Austria. These and other efficiency measures have enabled Austrian Post to significantly reduce its annual carbon emissions over the past few years from around 100,000 tonnes to 76,000 tonnes. Since 2011, the company has been offsetting all emissions that cannot yet be avoided by supporting climate protection projects within Austria and abroad. Austrian Post’s calculations of its CO2 emissions and offsetting measures are checked and verified each year by the certifying body TÜV AUSTRIA.

Due to COVID-19, the certificate could not be presented at an official ceremony this year. Instead, customers can create their own photo of the ‘presentation’ on the Austrian Post website. There is an online tool available at post.at/co2neutral, which enables customers to download their own certificate and create a virtual, personalised photo which can be used as a discussion point in corporate communications. Customers can upload their own photos and create a digital image of themselves, the certificate and company logo, along with the entire Executive Board comprising Dr. Georg Pölzl, CEO of the Austrian Post, Walter Oblin, Deputy CEO and CFO, and Peter Umundum, Member of the Management Board of the Parcel and Logistics Division.

www.post.at

Link to the Company´s profile

Start [:de]Innovation[:] Post stellte 2019 erneut alle Sendungen in Österreich Co2- Neutral zu

Post stellte 2019 erneut alle Sendungen in Österreich Co2- Neutral zu

(v.l.) Walter Oblin, Generaldirektor-Stellvertreter, Vorstand Brief & Finanzen, Georg Pölzl, Generaldirektor der Österreichischen Post und Peter Umundum, Vorstand Paket & Logistik mit dem CO2-Zertifikat © Post AG
GEPRÜFTE INITIATIVE SEIT 2011 – AB 2030 ZUSTELLUNG CO2-FREI

Egal ob Briefe, Werbesendungen oder Pakete: wer mit der Österreichischen Post versendet, belastet die globale Klimabilanz nicht. Denn schon seit 2011 stellt die Post alle Sendungen in Österreich CO2-neutral zu. Bis 2030 wird die Zustellung sogar CO2-frei und ausschließlich mit E-Fahrzeugen oder alternativen Antrieben erfolgen. Die Zertifikate über die Kompensation der CO2-Emissionen gibt die Post ihren Kund*innen weiter.

2011 startete die Österreichische Post die Initiative „CO2 NEUTRAL ZUGESTELLT“, um den ökologischen Fußabdruck des Unternehmens schrittweise zu verringern. Dabei wird sowohl der unternehmenseigene Energie- und Treibstoffverbrauch ständig reduziert als auch selbst in saubere Energie investiert. So verfügt das Unternehmen aktuell über rund 1.750 E-Fahrzeuge, deren Anzahl laufend ausgebaut wird. Mit eigenen Photovoltaik-Anlagen auf den Dächern der Logistikstandorte werden rund 1,3 Millionen Kilowattstunden Öko-Strom jährlich produziert und zugekauft wird ausschließlich grüner Strom aus Österreich. Durch diese und weitere Effizienzmaßnahmen konnte die Post ihre CO2-Emissionen in den vergangenen Jahren von circa 100.000 Tonnen auf rund 76.000 Tonnen jährlich beträchtlich reduzieren. Seit 2011 kompensiert das Unternehmen jene Emissionen, die derzeit noch nicht vermieden werden können, durch die Unterstützung von nationalen und internationalen Klimaschutzprojekten. Geprüft und bestätigt wird die Berechnung der CO2-Emissionen und deren Kompensation jährlich vom TÜV AUSTRIA.

Dieses Jahr wurde auf Grund von COVID-19 auf eine feierliche Übergabe der Zertifikate an die Großkunden der Post verzichtet. Stattdessen können sich alle Kund*innen ihr Foto von der „Verleihung“ selbst online erstellen. Dafür stellt die Post auf ihrer Seite post.at/co2neutral ein eigenes Online-Tool zur Verfügung, mit dem Kund*innen sich ihr Zertifikat downloaden sowie virtuell ein persönliches Foto erstellen können, das zur Firmenkommunikation zum Thema genutzt werden kann. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, durch Upload eines eigenen Fotos ein digitales Bild von sich, dem Zertifikat und Firmenlogo sowie mit dem Gesamtvorstand DI Dr. Georg Pölzl, Generaldirektor der Österreichischen Post, DI Walter Oblin, Generaldirektor-Stellvertreter, Vorstand Brief & Finanzen und DI Peter Umundum, Vorstand Paket & Logistik, zu gestalten.

www.post.at