Home [:de]Innovation[:] Interview with LCM: how digital twin technology is bringing products to market...

Interview with LCM: how digital twin technology is bringing products to market more quickly

Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Schatz Geschäftsführung/CEO Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH; Copyright: Linz Center of Mechatronics

Gerald Schatz, Managing Director of the Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH (LCM) speaks about the benefits of using digital twins in testing and commissioning processes.

Digitalisation has been given a further boost in recent months due to new ways of working, whilst in other areas – such as production – it has been a key concept for many years. Digital simulation offers many advantages, including continuous production monitoring and cheaper and quicker test phases. The Linz-based firm LCM is already using this technology to good effect.

We are keen to know more about the benefits of digital twins. Monica Rintersbacher, Managing Director of Leitbetriebe Austria, discusses this and more with Gerald Schatz, Managing Director of LCM.

Monica Rintersbacher: Can you introduce LCM and tell me about the types of products and services you provide to your customers?
Gerald Schatz: 
The Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH provides R&D services to the mechanical and plant engineering sector, and the medical technology industry. We support our customers from the initial research stages – which we carry out in partnership with an international network of leading universities – through to the production of the finished product. We also support our customers throughout the commissioning process. Digital product development – in other words, the use of software tools to develop components or entire systems – permeates all our development activities here at LCM. Digital twin technology is used across the entire development cycle, in virtual testing and afterwards in virtual commissioning. Our 120 employees manage projects using the following fields of technology: integrated electric and hydraulic drive systems, vibration technology, control engineering, IIoT, localisation, positioning, predictive systems, and overall system development.

What do digital product development, virtual testing and virtual commissioning mean? How do these developments benefit your customers specifically?
Digital product development means using software tools to create product or component data models. This model behaves in the same way as its real-life counterpart. One major advantage is that it offers excellent product scalability: we can quickly and efficiently simulate different versions by modifying the data. It is possible to test and implement the modular approach to design as well as the gradual development of individual functions. We can significantly reduce expensive development phases and any changes to the product can be quickly implemented. This reduces the time to market, which is an important step that helps ensure a product is available on the market at the most optimal time. These digital images of reality are stored in libraries, which means they are then available to be re-engineered later on. The performance data is also protected.

As the production processes are already integrated during the design process, everything is optimised all at the same time. This means that the user can save a substantial amount of money for the standard prototype phases using recurrent optimisation loops. Tests on the system currently in operation are no longer necessary, the commissioning stage becomes much safer and huge time savings are achieved.

When the digital twin runs alongside the machine when it is operating, the actual data from the machine can be compared with the nominal data from the digital image. Variances are verified and accurate statements about the system’s behaviour are produced.

This addresses a major weakness of all methods that are based solely on data analysis: pattern recognition in actual data is detached from the real operating conditions, which can lead to misinterpretations.

Can you give some typical examples of the services you provide and the types of projects your company has already implemented?
I can name a few examples, which demonstrate that excellent results can be achieved even with a small budget. We have worked with NG Green Innovations GmbH to optimise a wood chipping machine by mapping its digital twin. In around three weeks, we were able to increase the transport rate at the same rotational speed by 60% and the efficiency rate by 20%. We learned that you can quickly notch up some successes and gain some efficiencies if you focus on the critical components. The twin can of course be used for other purposes.

Another similar example is the company Prinz GmbH. This medium-sized company manufactures chainsaws with very long blades. By mapping the blade and the chain as a digital twin, we were able to achieve major improvements in the blade set-up and in terms of chain wear, noise and vibration. We used it almost like an add-on product, which gave us very good insights into the cutting process and helped to support the future development of the machine. Expert knowledge was assured over the long term, which is particularly important given the current shortage of skilled workers.

We have also developed the world’s first autonomous digital twin for a bending machine for Salvagnini Maschinenbau GmbH. The entire system and process have been mapped out as a digital twin that runs alongside the machine in real time, resulting in adaptive, automated ‘one-piece flow production’. We can then automatically identify the material parameters. The machine’s energy consumption can also be massively reduced.

Are there any particular obstacles that have to be overcome in this process?
Yes, it’s important to have the right personnel, IT infrastructure and software. We also need to ensure that the IT and simulation personnel receive continuous training. The costs associated with this can be very high. That’s why we recommend carrying out the first steps with a partner and to gradually develop your own expertise in-house.

In what way does developing a digital twin help during the following development phases through to the production of the end product?
When you have a digital twin, the next obvious step is to test the data model – in other words – carry out a virtual test. The advantage of this method is that the testing can be automated and run in parallel. This reduces testing times many times over. The same applies when virtual commissioning machinery. Depending on requirements, the entire control software can be integrated into the twin so that the actual situation as it occurs when the machinery is in operation can be mapped as accurately as possible. These test scenarios can be automatically generated using machine learning algorithms.

How will the market develop in this area? Is this method only used by international corporations and a few SMEs?
Digital methods are going to spread widely due to the increasing pressure on costs and the growing demand for customised products. The growing lack of expertise and the fact that many experienced personnel will soon be entering retirement are other factors that need to be considered. As I have just described in the previous examples, these methods will help to safeguard the future of SMEs especially. The costs are manageable if companies gradually introduce digital product development and make clever use of partnership networks.

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today.

The bottom line:
If used in the right way, digital twins can be used to carry out testing more quickly and cost-efficiently. They can also be used to constantly monitor production and to detect and fix potential damage and errors before they occur. To achieve this, it is necessary to ensure implementation is carried out proficiently, drawing on previous experience, and that all the employees involved are appropriately trained. These methods are not just worth implementing in large companies, but also in SMEs and companies operating within partnership networks that are seeking to gain a competitive edge.

www.lcm.at

Link to the Company´s profile

Start [:de]Innovation[:] Interview LCM: Digitaler Zwilling – Schneller am Markt

Interview LCM: Digitaler Zwilling – Schneller am Markt

Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Schatz Geschäftsführung/CEO Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH; Copyright: Linz Center of Mechatronics

Gerald Schatz, Geschäftsführer der Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH (LCM), über die Vorteile von Tests und Inbetriebnahme mithilfe eines digitalen Zwillings.

Digitalisierung hat in den letzten Monaten dank neuer Arbeitsbedingungen einen weiteren Schub erhalten – in anderen Bereichen, wie der Produktion gehört sie seit vielen Jahren zu den entscheidenden Schlüsselbegriffen. Die Möglichkeit per digitaler Simulation Testphasen günstiger und schneller zu gestalten und die Produktion laufend zu überwachen, ist einer dieser Vorteile und das Linzer Unternehmen LCM in diesem Bereich erfolgreich tätigt.

Wir haben nachgefragt welche Vorteile der sogenannte Digitale Zwilling mit sich bringt. Monica Rintersbacher, Geschäftsführerin Leitbetriebe Austria, im Gespräch mit Gerald Schatz, Geschäftsführer der LCM:

Monica Rintersbacher: Wer ist die LCM und welche Services und Produkte nehmen Ihre Kunden an Anspruch?
Gerald Schatz: Die Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH ist ein Anbieter von F&E-Dienstleistungen in den Branchen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, sowie Medizintechnik. Wir begleiten unsere Kunden von der Forschung, die wir in Kooperation mit einem internationalen Netzwerk an renommierten Universitäten durchführen bis zum fertigen Produkt und unterstützen sie bei der Inbetriebnahme. Die digitale Produktentwicklung, also der Einsatz von Software-Werkzeugen für die Entwicklung von Komponenten oder ganzen Systemen, zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch die komplette Entwicklungstätigkeit bei LCM. Der so genannte digitale Zwilling wird für die gesamte Entwicklungskette verwendet, für das virtuelle Testen ebenso wie danach für die virtuelle Inbetriebnahme. Unsere 120 Mitarbeiter führen Projekte in folgenden Technologiefeldern durch: Integrierte elektrische und hydraulische Antriebssysteme, Schwingungstechnik, Regelungstechnik, IIOT, Lokalisation, Positionierung, Predictive Systeme und Gesamtsystementwicklung.

Was bedeuten digitale Produktentwicklung, virtuelles Testen und virtuelle Inbetriebnahme? Welcher konkrete Nutzen für Ihre Kunden steckt hinter diesen Entwicklungen?
Digitale Produktentwicklung bedeutet, mit Software-Tools ein Datenmodell des Produkts oder der Komponenten zu erzeugen. Dieses Modell verhält sich so wie sein reales Pendant. Ein Vorteil ist eine sehr gute Skalierbarkeit des Produkts: Varianten können rasch und effizient durch Änderung der Daten simuliert werden. Der modulare Designansatz und die schrittweise Erweiterung um einzelne Funktionen können so getestet und realisiert werden. Die teure Entwicklungszeit wird deutlich reduziert und erforderliche Änderungen des Produkts können schnell umgesetzt werden. Damit verringert sich die Time-to-market, der Schritt der für die zeitoptimierte Präsenz auf dem Markt wichtig ist. Da diese digitalen Abbilder der Realität in Bibliotheken gespeichert werden, stehen diese für späteres Reengineering zur Verfügung – die Leistungsdaten werden abgesichert.

Da die Produktion bereits während des Entwurfsprozesses eingebunden ist, wird alles gleich für die Produktion optimiert. So spart sich der Anwender erhebliche Kosten für die traditionelle Prototypenphase mit wiederkehrenden Optimierungsschleifen. Versuche an der laufenden Anlage fallen damit weg, die Sicherheit bei der Inbetriebnahme steigt und die Dauer wird um ein Vielfaches verkürzt.

Läuft dieser digitale Zwilling im Betrieb der Maschine mit, werden die Istdaten aus dem Betrieb mit den Solldaten des digitalen Abbilds verglichen. Abweichungen werden verifiziert und es wird eine korrekte Aussage über das Verhalten der Anlage getroffen.

Damit wird eine große Schwäche aller lediglich auf Datananalyse beruhenden Methoden behoben: Der von den realen Betriebsbedingungen losgelösten Mustererkennung in Istdaten und damit einhergehenden falschen Interpretation.

Welche typischen Beispiele für Ihr Angebot gibt es, welche Projekte haben Sie bei Unternehmen bereits umgesetzt?
Ich nenne einige Beispiele, die zeigen, dass bereits mit geringem Aufwand eine sehr gute Wirkung erreicht werden kann. Gemeinsam mit der Firma NG Green Innovations GmbH wurde eine Hackschnitzelfräse optimiert, indem wir diese als Digitalen Zwilling abgebildet haben. Mit einem Aufwand von rund 3 Wochen konnte die Transportrate bei gleicher Drehzahl um 60% und der Wirkungsgrad um 20% erhöht werden. Man erkennt: fokussiert man sich auf die kritischen Komponenten, wird sehr effizient und rasch ein erster Erfolg erzielt. Der vorliegende Zwilling kann natürlich für weitere Zwecke verwendet werden.

Ein ähnliches Beispiel ist die Firma Prinz GmbH. Das mittelständische Unternehmen ist Hersteller von Kettensägen mit sehr großen Schwertlängen. Durch die Abbildung des Schwertes und der Kette als Digitaler Zwilling wurden wichtige Verbesserungen beim Schneide-Setup und bei der Abnutzung der Kette, sowie der Lärm- und Schwingungsneigung erreicht. Quasi als Zusatzprodukt wurde ein sehr guter Einblick in den Schneideprozess gewonnen, als Basis für die Weiterentwicklung der Maschine. Das Expertenwissen – angesichts des Facharbeitermangels ein wichtiger Punkt – wurde damit nachhaltig gesichert.

Der weltweite erste autonome Digitale Zwilling für einen Abkantautomaten wurde für das Unternehmen Salvagnini Maschinenbau entwickelt. Die gesamte Anlage und der Prozess sind als digitales Pendant, das im Echtbetrieb in der Maschine mitläuft, abgebildet. Damit wurde eine adaptive automatisierte „one piece flow production“ erreicht. Die Materialparameter werden automatisch identifiziert. Gleichzeitig konnte Energieverbrauch der Anlage massiv verringert werden.

Gibt es auch Stolpersteine bei diesem Vorgehen, die besondere Beachtung brauchen?
Ja, man benötigt Personal, IT-Infrastruktur sowie die erforderliche Software und laufende Schulungen des IT- und Simulationspersonals. Die Kosten dafür können erheblich sein. Daher empfehlen wir die ersten Schritte mit einem Partner durchzuführen und das Know How im eigenen Haus schrittweise aufzubauen.

Was nützt die Entwicklung eines digitalen Zwilllings für die weiteren Schritte in der Entwicklung hin zum fertigen Produkt?
Liegt ein digitaler Zwilling vor, ist der naheliegende nächste Schritt das Datenmodell auch gleich zu testen: man spricht vom virtuellen Test. Vorteil dieser Methode ist, dass man diese Tests automatisiert durchführen und parallelisieren kann. Die Testzeit wird somit um ein Vielfaches reduziert. Analog verhält es sich mit der virtuellen Inbetriebnahme einer Anlage: je nach Anforderungen kann die gesamte Steuerungssoftware in den Zwilling integriert und damit gleich die reale Situation beim Betrieb der Anlage möglichst gut abgebildet werden. Über Machine-Learning-Algorithmen können diese Testszenarien automatisch erzeugt werden.

Wie wird sich der Markt in diesem Bereich entwickeln? Bleibt dies eine Methode der internationalen Konzerne und einiger weniger KMUs?
Aufgrund des zunehmenden Kostendrucks und der steigenden Anforderungen an die Individualisierung von Produkten werden sich digitale Methoden stark verbreiten. Der steigende Mangel an Experten und die bevorstehenden Pensionierungen von erfahrenem Personal sind ein zusätzlicher Faktor. Wie in den Beispielen angeführt, sind diese Methoden gerade für KMUs ein wesentlicher Hebel für die Zukunftssicherung. Bei schrittweiser Einführung der digitalen Produktentwicklung und geschickter Nutzung von Partnernetzwerken sind die Kosten überschaubar.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!

Fazit:
Mittels eines digitalen Zwillings lässt sich bei richtigem Einsatz also sowohl die Testphase günstiger und schneller gestalten, als auch die Produktion permanent überwachen, um mögliche Schäden und Fehler schon vor ihrem auftreten zu bemerken und zu beheben. Notwendig dafür ist eine kompetente und auf Erfahrung aufbauende Implementierung im Unternehmen inklusive entsprechender Schulung der Mitarbeiter. Sinnvoll sind diese Methoden dabei nicht nur für große Unternehmen, sondern auch für KMUs und Unternehmen in Partnernetzwerken, die sich damit Vorteile am Markt sichern.

www.lcm.at