Home News Austria’s leading companies still open for business amidst the crisis

Austria’s leading companies still open for business amidst the crisis

The bigger the challenges and the worse the crisis, the less helpful it is to stand around feeling sorry for ourselves. “Overcoming the pandemic is the most important and urgent task, however, it isn’t our only task,” explains Monica Rintersbacher, Managing Director of Leitbetriebe Austria. “Now of all times, our leading Austrian companies need to prove that they can keep the Austrian economy running. This can be achieved by continuing to manufacture under these difficult circumstances, by ensuring that ‘critical infrastructure’ operates effectively and by continuing to supply other companies to help safeguard their existence. What’s more, they can prepare for a new start once the crisis is over. Because the sooner Austria’s economy starts functioning normally again, the sooner we can reduce the unemployment rate, reduce the financial burden on households and curb government debt. Those who are now thinking and working with the future in mind will help to overcome the crisis quickly.”

Monica Rintersbacher has been involved in intensive discussions with many of our leading companies and has come to the conclusion that in times of crisis courage and confidence are especially important ‘raw materials’ for each company and the Austrian economy. “Leitbetriebe Austria is therefore playing a critical role, which is why we want to highlight some of the many companies – and especially their highly-motivated employees – who are confronting the challenges presented by the crisis with great energy and creativity.”

Heading out of the crisis

Austrian companies deliver the highest levels of service despite the downturn
Due to the times we live in, employees working from home now find themselves making their well-earned cup of coffee themselves, instead of grabbing a cup from one of the thousands of hot beverage dispensers provided by the Austrian company café+co. The beverage vending provider delivers a high-quality service across eleven countries, supplying hot and cold beverages, and snacks, via its drinks dispensers and coffee machines. The company has been hit hard by the coronavirus outbreak, so it is now focusing even more intently on ensuring that its remaining deliveries are handled to complete perfection. “Unfortunately, drinking coffee doesn’t protect you from the coronavirus, but nobody deserves it as much as the people in companies and institutions which we are currently supplying,” explains Managing Director of café+co Fritz Kaltenegger. “We are currently focusing more heavily on customers such as hospitals, public authorities, government departments, food retailers and various infrastructure facilities. We want to be there for the people who work in these types of organisations. Our routine hygiene measures have always been of a consistently high standard, but we have optimised them even further in light of the pandemic. Wearing gloves is always a given, but now our staff are also wearing face masks and all equipment is disinfected on the outside each time it is refilled.”

High-tech hygiene measures replace standard services
The range of standard services provided by the facility services sector has declined due to the crisis – businesses, hotels and offices, which are now closed, are now only being cleaned intermittently or not at all. “We are trying to compensate for at least a part of this shortfall by carrying out special types of cleaning. This doesn’t just provide a ray of hope for the future of our business, it means more importantly that we are playing a key role in ensuring hygiene standards are flawless in order to help stem the coronavirus pandemic,” explains Andreas Ubl, Managing Partner of the facilities management company ifms Service. New types of highly effective disinfection processes are used to clean interior spaces of all types and sizes as well as cars and buses. Mobile generators are used to generate compressed air for a special cold nebulisation process, which is used to disinfect the air and surfaces in rooms over a wide area. The fine aerosol reaches and disinfects the smallest nooks and crannies to ensure the space is as clean and safe as possible.

Maintaining customer proximity and customer focus at a distance
One of the things Austria’s leading companies have been forced to learn very quickly is that a customer-focused approach can and must happen even if you cannot be in close proximity to your customers. Austria’s leading property service provider EHL Immobilien is one of the many companies that adapted quickly to this new situation. “The current situation has naturally had a huge impact on our activities. However, we are primarily using digital technology to ensure that we can continue to maintain our usual high levels of service,” explains Managing Director Michael Ehlmaier. “Instead of carrying out our usual viewings, we now offer an online version using 3D technology. And even during these challenging times, we can process financial transactions in the two-digit million range – last week alone we handled the sale of an office building and a large residential development project to two prestigious international investors.”

As the state of property values is of extreme financial importance for private and institutional investors, a comprehensive analysis of the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on the Austrian property market is being generated along with regular updates. As Michael Ehlmaier continues to explain, “This serves as a very important guide for our clients, which enables us to show them better than before the kind of services we can provide for them. I think that following this crisis our relationship with many of our customers will be even stronger and more positive than it was before.”

Sales campaigns on hold, but production continues
Leading Austrian manufacturer of designer light fittings Molto Luce is one of the many companies which combine production, distribution and wholesale services, and which are facing a particularly challenging time. “Our sales force is currently unable to make any appointments, however, production is still remaining at full capacity for the time being,” explains Managing Director Friedrich Eiber. “This is mainly possible because under normal circumstances we usually maintain a very healthy order backlog. If the restrictions don’t last for an excessively long time, we can complete these orders and won’t need to scale back our production.” Friedrich Eiber is also confident that it will not all end in disaster and that the orders which didn’t materialise in March, April and even in May will just come in later than originally expected. “All sectors will start to invest again, including in modern, high-quality lighting systems.” The focus will therefore be on growth and not stagnation once the coronavirus crisis is over.

Disrupted supply chains open up new export opportunities
Some sectors have not been as severely affected by the crisis and new opportunities are even being opened up at least in some sub-sectors. This has certainly been the experience of Markus Tadler, Marketing Director of Schmid Schrauben, a family firm with a 175-year-old history. “It has not been as bad as we had feared so far. Some export markets, such as Scandinavia, are performing especially well because we are receiving orders from customers who would normally buy from suppliers in Asia, which are not supplying at the moment.” According to Markus Tadler, domestic demand from DIY stores has surprisingly not been disrupted as much as expected because sales volumes have remained at a certain level due to delivery and contactless collection services and the fact that people now have more time for DIY projects. “Sales are obviously down across the manufacturing and construction sectors, but even though we wouldn’t say that the situation is particularly good on the whole, it’s not a complete disaster either.”

From swimming pools to face shieldsa surge in crisis-induced creativity
New situations require companies to think differently and to explore new avenues. Swimming pool manufacturer Wallner Kunststoffverarbeitung is a perfect example of a company that has demonstrated this kind of creative thinking. In response to the pandemic, the company quickly switched its production lines from manufacturing polyester pools to protective equipment. This leading Austrian company now manufactures plexiglass cough and sneeze panels as well as face shields, which can be retrofitted to standard construction safety helmets. “When you’re in a supermarket, bank or chemists, there is a good chance that we have produced the plastic protective screens that you will see there,” explains the company’s owner Andreas Wallner. “These products aren’t particularly important from a financial perspective, but we are proud that even as a manufacturer of swimming pools we can make a meaningful contribution to the fight against COVID-19. Our core business is currently suffering because even though there are lots of construction projects in the pipeline, many construction companies are unable to work at full capacity.” Andreas Wallner is still anticipating a positive outcome in the medium and long term because he believes many homeowners will be investing in their properties when the crisis is over. In addition, the fact that many public swimming pools could remain closed over the summer, might perhaps induce some people to think about having their own pool.

Monica Rintersbacher certainly believes that the crisis strategies employed by Austria’s leading companies deserve the greatest respect. “The energy, expertise and creativity of our leading companies is remarkable. We obviously can’t expect even the best strategies to conjure away the negative effects of the crisis, however, they allow businesses to continue operating in the best way possible. Above all, they create optimal conditions for successful new beginnings. The overarching message is unequivocal: we are looking to the future and Austria is still open for business!”

Start News Österreichs Leitbetriebe gegen die Krise: Wir machen nicht dicht!

Österreichs Leitbetriebe gegen die Krise: Wir machen nicht dicht!

Je größer die Herausforderungen, je tiefer die Krise, desto weniger hilft es, gemeinsam Trübsal zu blasen. „Die Überwindung der Seuche ist die wichtigste und akuteste Aufgabe, aber nicht die einzige“, sagt Monica Rintersbacher, Geschäftsführerin der Leitbetriebe Austria. „Gerade jetzt können und müssen die österreichischen Leitbetriebe unter Beweis stellen, dass sie den Standort Österreich am Laufen halten: Indem sie auch unter schwierigen Umständen Produktionen fortführen, dafür sorgen, dass die ‚kritische Infrastruktur‘ reibungslos funktioniert, andere Unternehmen weiter beliefern und damit deren Existenz sichern und nicht zuletzt auch, indem sie den Neustart für die Zeit nach der Krise vorbereiten – jeder Tag früher, den Österreichs Wirtschaft wieder normal funktioniert, wird Tausende Arbeitslose wieder in Beschäftigung bringen, die Existenzsorgen der privaten Haushalte verringern und die Verschuldung des Staats begrenzen. Nur wer jetzt zukunftsorientiert denkt und arbeitet, wird dazu beitragen, die Krise rasch zu überwinden.“

Aus dem intensiven Austausch mit den Leitbetrieben kommt Rintersbacher zu der Erkenntnis, dass Mut und Zuversicht gerade in Krisenzeiten wichtige „Rohstoffe“ für jedes Unternehmen und den Wirtschaftsstandort Österreich sind. „Leitbetriebe spielen dafür die absolute Schlüsselrolle und daher wollen wir einige von den vielen Unternehmen, die mit Energie, Kreativität und vor allem hochmotivierten Mitarbeitern der Krise trotzen, vor den Vorhang holen.

Leitbetriebe berichten von ihrem Weg durch die Krise

Wenn schon weniger Geschäft, dann dafür perfekt!
Ihren wohlverdienten Kaffee müssen sich Mitarbeiter im Homeoffice wohl selber machen und holen ihn nicht wie gewohnt aus einem der Tausenden Heißgetränkeautomaten von café+co. Der in elf Ländern tätige österreichische Spezialist für Automaten-Catering bietet perfekte Versorgung mit Heißgetränken, Kaltgetränken und Snacks mittels Automaten und Kaffeemaschine und ist von der Corona-Krise hart getroffen, umso mehr liegt der Fokus darauf, die derzeit noch möglichen Belieferungen absolut perfekt abzuwickeln. „Kaffee schützt leider nicht vor dem Virus, aber wohl niemand verdient ihn so sehr wie die Menschen in den Unternehmen und Institutionen, die wir auch jetzt noch beliefern“, so Fritz Kaltenegger, Geschäftsführer von café+co. „Unsere Schwerpunkte liegen derzeit bei Kunden wie Krankenhäusern, Behörden und Ministerien, Lebensmittelhandel und diversen Infrastruktureinrichtungen. Für diese Menschen wollen wir auch jetzt da sein. Unsere bereits standardmäßig hohen Hygienemaßnahmen wurden weiter optimiert. Handschuhe sind für unsere Mitarbeiter selbstverständlich, jetzt wird auch Mundschutz getragen und die Geräte werden bei jeder Befüllung außen desinfiziert.“

High-Tech-Hygiene statt Standard-Dienstleistungen
Auch im Facilitybereich ist durch die Krisensituation das Leistungsportfolio an Standardleistungen zurückgegangen – geschlossene Geschäfte, Hotels oder Büros werden eben nicht oder nur selten gereinigt. „Wenigstens einen Teil dieses Rückgangs machen wir mit Spezialreinigungen wett, die nicht nur für uns ein wirtschaftlicher Hoffnungsstrahl sind, sondern die vor allem ein wichtiger Beitrag zu perfekter Hygiene und damit zur Eindämmung der Corona-Epidemie sind“, berichtet der Geschäftsführende Gesellschafter des Facilityunternehmens ifms Service Andreas Ubl. Mit neuartigen, hochwirksamen Desinfektionsverfahren werden Innenräume jeder Art und Größe, PKWs oder auch Busse gereinigt. Mit mobilen Generatoren wird über ein Druckluftverfahren das Desinfektionsmittel kaltvernebelt und in den Raum eingebracht. Das feine Aerosol erreicht und desinfiziert so auch die kleinsten Fugen und Ritzen und schafft so größtmögliche Sicherheit.

Kundennähe und Kundenorientierung, ganz ohne „Kontakt“
Zu den Dingen, die Leitbetriebe derzeit gezwungenermaßen sehr rasch lernen, gehört, dass Kundenorientierung auch komplett ohne räumliche Nähe funktionieren kann und muss. Rasch auf die neue Situation regiert hat z.B. Österreichs führender Immobiliendienstleister, EHL Immobilien. „Die aktuelle Situation hat natürlich auch enorme Auswirkungen auf unsere Tätigkeit, aber wir versuchen vor allem mittels Digitaltechnik die gewohnte Servicequalität weitestgehend zu halten“, erklärt Geschäftsführer Michael Ehlmaier. „Statt der gewohnten Besichtigungen werden diese nun online mit 3D-Technik angeboten und auch in dieser herausfordernden Zeit können wir noch bemerkenswerte Transaktionen im zweistelligen Millionenbereich vermitteln– alleine vergangene Woche etwa ein Bürohaus und ein großes Wohnungsneubauprojekt, die beide von renommierten internationalen Investoren gekauft wurden.“
Da die Entwicklung der Immobilienwerte für private wie institutionelle Anleger enorme finanzielle Bedeutung hat, wurde mittlerweile auch eine umfassende Analyse der zu erwartenden Coronafolgen für die österreichischen Immobilienmärkte erstellt, regelmäßige Aktualisierungen folgen. „Für unsere Kunden ist das eine sehr wichtige Orientierungshilfe, mit der wir so gut wie nie zuvor zeigen können, was wir für sie tun können. Ich denke, dass nach dieser Krise viele Kundenbeziehungen noch stärker und vertrauensvoller sein werden als je zuvor“, so Ehlmaier.

Der Vertrieb macht Pause, doch die Produktion läuft weiter
Vor einer speziellen Herausforderung stehen Unternehmen, die wie Molto Luce, einer der führenden Hersteller von Designerleuchten in Österreich, Produktion, Eigenvertrieb und Großhandel verbinden. „Unser Vertrieb kann derzeit keine Termine machen, aber in der Produktion halten wir vorerst noch die volle Kapazität aufrecht“, sagt Geschäftsführer Friedrich Eiber. „Das ist vor allem deswegen möglich, weil wir in Normalzeiten mit einem sehr dicken Auftragspolster arbeiten. Wenn die Beschränkungen nicht übermäßig lange dauern, werden wir diese abarbeiten und müssen unsere Produktion nicht zurückfahren.“ Eiber ist auch zuversichtlich, dass nicht noch ein dickes Ende nachkommt und die Aufträge, die im März, April und vielleicht auch noch im Mai fehlen werden, anschließend mit etwas Verzögerung doch einlangen werden. „Alle Branchen werden dann wieder investieren und dazu gehören eben auch moderne, hochwertige Beleuchtungssysteme.“ Somit wird auf Wachstum und nicht Stillstand nach der Corona-Krise gesetzt.

Unterbrochene Lieferketten eröffnen auch neue Exportchancen
Manche Branchen sind von der Krise weniger hart betroffen, zumindest in Teilbereichen eröffnen sich sogar neue Chancen, wie etwa Markus Tadler, Marketingleiter des vor 175 Jahren gegründeten Familienunternehmens Schmid Schrauben, berichtet. „Bis jetzt ist es weniger schlimm gekommen als befürchtet. So laufen einige Exportmärkte wie z.B. Skandinavien überdurchschnittlich gut, weil wir Aufträge von Kunden bekommen, die sonst in Asien kaufen und derzeit von dort nicht beliefert werden.“ Im Inland sei die Nachfrage seitens der Baumärkte überraschenderweise nicht gar so stark eingebrochen, weil diese mit Zustellservices und kontaktlosen Abholmöglichkeiten weiterhin ein gewisses Verkaufsvolumen halten und die Menschen zudem ausreichend Zeit für Arbeiten zu Hause haben. „Der Absatz bei Industrie und Bauunternehmen leidet natürlich sehr, aber insgesamt können wir sagen, dass die Lage zwar alles andere als gut ist, aber auch nicht katastrophal.“

Krisen fördern Kreativität – Schutzvisiere statt Schwimmbäder
Neue Situationen erfordern es, neu zu denken und neue unternehmerische Wege zu beschreiten. In vorbildlicher Weise zeigt das Schwimmbäderproduzent Wallner Kunststoffverarbeitung und hat kurzer Hand die Produktion von Polyesterpools um Produkte zur Seuchenprävention ergänzt. So fertigt der Leitbetrieb jetzt Hauch- und Niesschutzaufsteller aus Plexiglas sowie Schutzvisiere mit denen Standard-Bauhelme nachgerüstet werden können. „Wenn Sie in einem Supermarkt, einer Bank oder einer Apotheke eine Plastik-Schutzscheibe sehen, besteht eine gute Chance, dass diese Produkte bei uns erzeugt wurden“, erzählt Unternehmer Andreas Wallner. „Wirtschaftlich sind diese Produkte nicht sonderlich relevant, aber wir sind schon stolz darauf, dass auch wir als Schwimmbadbauer einen ernsthaften Beitrag zur Bekämpfung von Corona leisten können. Unser eigentliches Geschäft leidet derzeit darunter, dass jetzt die Montagesaison startet und die Baufirmen vielfach nicht in vollem Umfang arbeiten können.“ Aber mittel- und langfristig rechnet Wallner mit positiven Effekten, denn nach der Krise werden viele Hauseigentümer in ihr Eigenheim investieren. Und da die öffentlichen Bäder auch noch im Sommer geschlossen sein könnten, denken vielleicht manche schon recht bald über einen eigenen Pool nach.

Die Krisenstrategien der österreichischen Leitbetriebe nötigen Rintersbacher größten Respekt ab. „Energie, Kompetenz und Kreativität der Leitbetriebe sind bemerkenswert. Natürlich kann auch die beste Strategie die negativen Auswirkungen der Krise nicht wegzaubern, aber sie ermöglicht eine bestmögliche Fortführung des Betriebs und vor allem schafft sie die Voraussetzungen für einen erfolgreichen Neustart. Das gemeinsame Motto ist ganz klar: Wir schauen nach vorne und wir machen Österreich nicht dicht!“

Copyright Titelfoto: Molto Luce / Andrew Phelps