Home Events High-tech intralogistics opens up opportunities for Austrian business

High-tech intralogistics opens up opportunities for Austrian business

from left to right: Georg Konetzky (Department Director of the Federal Ministry of Digital and Economic Affairs), Andreas Ausweger (Managing Director of Jungheinrich Austria), Monica Rintersbacher (Managing Director of Leitbetriebe Austria), Peter Umundum (Member of the Board of Austrian Post), Günther Ofner (Member of the Board of Vienna Airport), Peter Wilfinger (Managing Director of New Business at Kardex Austria) © feelimage / Matern

An efficient logistics network is a key factor in assuring the success of a particular business location. Intralogistics is an important – but often overlooked – sub-area of logistics, which is coming increasingly to the fore. It is basically defined as the movement of goods and materials within manufacturing and logistics hubs. The subject was recently discussed during a special conference entitled ‘Intralogistics – spearheading digitalisation’ organised by Logistik.Initiative.Austria and Leitbetriebe Austria, which was attended by a number of illustrious delegates. The takeaway message from the conference was that the continuing digitalisation of complex logistics processes will offer excellent opportunities for Austrian business.

Günther Ofner, Executive Director of Vienna Airport and event host, highlighted the vitally important role the logistics sector plays in the competitiveness of a given location. “The sector acts as an interface between manufacturers, distributors and consumers. This interface needs to function seamlessly and efficiently. Due to the massive growth in the movement of goods, it only functions well if there is continuous innovation and especially if there is a consistent effort to digitalise all processes.”

Bringing logistics hubs back to Austria

According to Managing Director of Leitbetriebe Austria Monica Rintersbacher, “A significant proportion of logistics services – especially those supplied to the eastern Austrian market – are currently provided in neighbouring countries. The more conventional warehouses that depend largely on lower-skilled workers are replaced by fully digitalised logistics hubs run by highly-qualified staff, the more likely it will be that Austria will be able to establish itself as a strong logistics centre again and bring increased enterprise value back to Austria.” Evidence of the sector’s enormous potential can be seen in the freight of about 300,000 tonnes that goes through Vienna Airport each year.

Georg Konetzky, Department Director of the Federal Ministry of Digital and Economic Affairs continued discussing the subject in the same vein. “We want and need to make greater efforts to bring manufacturing back to Austria and Europe and to recreate added value. The ongoing digitalisation of intralogistics offers the opportunity to achieve major efficiency gains and increase the competitiveness of Austria as a place to do business. At the same time, it will help to avoid job losses and in fact create high-quality employment opportunities here in Austria.”
Georg Konetzky also believes that innovative intralogistics could play an important role in helping to strengthen Austria’s economy and labour market: “If goods for the Austrian market are also handled within Austria, this will significantly improve the country’s resilience in times of crisis and help to protect our companies and jobs.”

Peter Wilfinger, Managing Director of Kardex Austria, a specialist manufacturer of automated storage and retrieval systems, outlined the structural changes to the flow of goods that can be achieved through innovative logistics solutions: “Digitalised logistics hubs can counteract the trend of ever bigger logistic centres which are being located even further away from customers. They facilitate greater regionalisation and increase security of supply, even when borders need to be closed, as was the case during the COVID crisis.” Provider of comprehensive intralogistics solutions Jungheinrich, represented by Managing Director Andreas Ausweger, is using increased digitalisation and the networking of all processes in logistics centres to underpin its use of driverless transportation systems – an innovation which is going to significantly change intralogistics in the coming years.

Convenience matters

The Austrian Post, which is breaking company records by delivering more than 150 million packages this year, was represented by Peter Umundum, Board Member in charge of the Parcel and Logistics Division, who underlined Austrian Post’s ongoing drive to develop digitalisation and automation, especially at the customer interface. “As far as we see it, the digitalisation of all processes is not primarily a question of reducing costs; we predominantly need them to continue improving the quality of our services. Austrians are receiving more parcels than ever before, which is why we want to use every opportunity to make it an easy and stress-free process for our customers. The introduction of self-service zones, the Post App, online parcel redirection services etc. has enabled us to significantly increase levels of customer convenience.”

About Vienna Airport, Jungheinrich, Kardex Austria, Austrian Post
The four leading Austrian companies at the podium are experts in the field of intralogistics. To find out more about these companies, visit the Leitbetriebe Austria website.
Vienna Airport: https://leitbetriebe.at/flughafen-wien-ag/ 
Jungheinrich: https://leitbetriebe.at/jungheinrich-austria-vertriebsges-m-b-h/
Kardex Austria: https://leitbetriebe.at/kardex-austria-gmbh/
Austrian Post: https://leitbetriebe.at/oesterreichische-post-ag/

About Logistik.Initiative.Austria
Logistik.Initiative.Austria has around 60 corporate members and is Austria’s leading network of logistics companies. We serve as a catalyst, innovator and manager of (innovation-led) projects on a regional, national and international level. We provide added value for the entire logistics sector and promote Austria’s position as a logistics centre. Our goal is to strengthen the competitiveness of Austria as a logistics centre and to enhance public awareness of the importance of the logistics industry to the Austrian economy.

Enquiries: Leitbetriebe Austria, office@leitbetriebe.at, +4315223033-0

Start Events Intralogistik im High-Tech-Modus: Neue Chancen für den Wirtschaftsstandort und das Klima

Intralogistik im High-Tech-Modus: Neue Chancen für den Wirtschaftsstandort und das Klima

from left to right: Georg Konetzky (Department Director of the Federal Ministry of Digital and Economic Affairs), Andreas Ausweger (Managing Director of Jungheinrich Austria), Monica Rintersbacher (Managing Director of Leitbetriebe Austria), Peter Umundum (Member of the Board of Austrian Post), Günther Ofner (Member of the Board of Vienna Airport), Peter Wilfinger (Managing Director of New Business at Kardex Austria) © feelimage / Matern

Effiziente Logistik ist ein Schlüsselfaktor für einen erfolgreichen Wirtschaftsstandort. Dem Teilbereich Intralogistik, also die Waren- und Materialbewegungen innerhalb des Werksgeländes bzw. des Logistikzentrums, kommt dabei entscheidende, aber oft unterschätzte Bedeutung zu. Die weitere Digitalisierung der komplexen Abläufe in der Logistik stelle jedenfalls auch eine große Chance für den Wirtschaftsstandort Österreich dar, so der Tenor einer hochkarätig besetzten Fachveranstaltung der Logistik.Initiative.Austria gemeinsam mit Leitbetriebe Austria zum Thema „Intralogistik – Vorreiter in der Digitalisierung“.

Günther Ofner, Vorstandsdirektor des Flughafens Wien und Gastgeber der Veranstaltung, verwies auf die überragende Bedeutung der Logistik für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit eines Wirtschaftsstandort: „Die Branche hat eine Scharnierfunktion zwischen Herstellern, Händlern und Konsumenten. Dieses Scharnier muss effizient und klaglos funktionieren. Wegen des enormen Wachstums der Warenströme gelingt das letztlich nur durch permanente Innovation, insbesondere konsequente Digitalisierung aller Abläufe.“

Logistikzentren zurück nach Österreich holen

„Ein wesentlicher Teil der Logistikleistungen vor allem für den ostösterreichischen Markt wird heute im angrenzenden Ausland erbracht“, so Leitbetriebe-Austria-Geschäftsführerin Monica Rintersbacher. „Je stärker konventionelle Lager mit einem hohen Anteil wenig qualifizierter Arbeit von volldigitalisierten Logistikzenten ersetzt werden, in denen hochqualifizierte Mitarbeiter beschäftigt sind, desto größer sind die Chancen, Österreich wieder stärker als Logistikstandort zu etablieren und damit Wertschöpfung zurück an den Wirtschaftsstandort Österreich zu bringen.“ Gerade der Flughafen Wien, an dem jährlich rund 300.000 Tonnen Fracht umgeschlagen werden, zeige das enorme Potenzial der Branche.

In die selbe Kerbe schlägt auch Georg Konetzky, Sektionschef im Wirtschaftsministerium. „Wir wollen und müssen Produktion und Wertschöpfung wieder verstärkt nach Österreich und Europa holen. Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung der Intralogistik bietet die Chance, große Effizienzgewinne zu erzielen, die die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit unseres Wirtschaftsstandorts weiter erhöhen, und trotzdem dabei nicht Arbeitsplätze abzubauen, sondern zusätzliche hochwertige Arbeitsplätze in Österreich zu schaffen.“
Auch könne innovative Intralogistik wesentlich zur Resilienz des Wirtschafts- und Arbeitsstandortes beitragen: „Wenn der Warenumschlag für den österreichischen Markt auch in Österreich erfolgt, trägt das zu einer erheblichen Steigerung der Krisenfestigkeit und damit zur Absicherung heimischer Unternehmen und Arbeitsplätze bei.“

Peter Wilfinger, Geschäftsführer von Kardex Austria, eines Spezialisten für automatisierte Lager- und Bereitstellungssysteme, skizzierte die strukturellen Veränderungen in den Warenströmen, die durch innovative Logistiklösungen ermöglicht werden: „Mit digitalisierten Logistikzentren kann der Trend zu immer größeren und damit auch weiter von den Kunden entfernten Umschlagplätzen entgegengewirkt werden. Sie ermöglichen stärkere Regionalisierung und schaffen damit auch bessere Versorgungssicherheit, selbst im Falle von Grenzschließungen, wie sie während der Covid-Krise erfolgten.“ Der Intralogistik-Komplettanbieter Jungheinrich, vertreten durch Geschäftsführer Andreas Ausweger, wiederum nutzt die immer stärkere Digitalisierung und Vernetzung aller Abläufe in Logistikzentren als Fundament für den Einsatz fahrerloser Transportsysteme – eine Innovation, die die Intralogistik in den kommenden Jahren entscheidend verändern wird.

Mehr Komfort für Konsumenten

Seitens der Österreichischen Post, die heuer erstmals mehr als 150 Mio. Pakete erwartet, kündigte Paket & Logistik-Vorstand Peter Umundum an, Digitalisierung und Automatisierung insbesondere an der Schnittstelle zum Endkunden voranzutreiben. „Die Digitalisierung aller Abläufe ist für uns nicht primär eine Frage der Kostensenkung, sondern in erster Linie brauchen wir sie zur weiteren Verbesserung unserer Servicequalität. Die Österreicher empfangen so viele Pakete wie nie zuvor, daher wollen wir auch alle Möglichkeiten nutzen, dass sie diese auch einfach und problemlos empfangen können. Mit Selbstbedienungszonen, der Post-App, Online-Paketumleitungen, etc. können wir den Kundenkomfort deutlich erhöhen.“

Über Flughafen Wien, Jungheinrich, Kardex Austria, Österreichische Post
Die vier am Podium vertretenen Österreichischen Leitbetriebe repräsentieren höchste Kompetenz in der Intralogistik. Informationen zu den Unternehmen finden Sie auf der Internetseite von Leitbetriebe Austria.
Flughafen Wien: https://leitbetriebe.at/flughafen-wien-ag/ 
Jungheinrich: https://leitbetriebe.at/jungheinrich-austria-vertriebsges-m-b-h/
Kardex Austria: https://leitbetriebe.at/kardex-austria-gmbh/
Österreichische Post: https://leitbetriebe.at/oesterreichische-post-ag/

Über Logistik.Initiative.Austria
Die Logistik.Initiative.Austria ist mit rund sechzig unterstützenden Unternehmen das bedeutendste Netzwerk der österreichischen Logistikbranche. Als Katalysator, Initiator und Manager von (Innovations-) Projekten auf regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene schaffen wir Wertschöpfung für die gesamte Logistikbranche und den Logistikstandort Österreich. Das Ziel ist, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Logistikstandorts Österreich zu stärken und das öffentliche Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung der Logistikwirtschaft für den Wirtschaftsstandort Österreich zu stärken.

Rückfragen: Leitbetriebe Austria, office@leitbetriebe.at, +4315223033-0

Copyright Fotos: feelimage / Matern